Netball is back for 2020!

Estie Wiid | Netball Co-ordinator

Welcome to the 2020 Netball season! Our girls are keen and enthusiastic to be participating once again in the Warwick and District Netball Association ladies’ competition.

Our Open team had a very good start to the season last Tuesday night, which resulted in an easy win against Tradie Ladies. It is great to have Rachel Caton back on the team after her overseas travel. Leilani Lavea, a new addition to the team, has gelled well with devoted defence player Rosemary McDonald, who together, made multiple turnovers for their team. Netball captain, Harriet Curtain, and the rest of the team listed below, continue to strive to improve their skill levels and to instil a sense of College pride and culture throughout the team.  It is wonderful to see them always having fun when on the court.

Our OPENS team comprises of Harriet Curtain (Captain), Holly Naughten, Chloe O’Halloran, Domi Harvey, Leilani Myer, Rosemary McDonald, Leilani Lavea, Rachel Caton, Bridget Hardy and Alexandra Rickert.

The younger girls will play their first game next Tuesday after commencing training in the first week of school.

Laura Geitz Shield Competition 23 February  

A squad of 10 players in Years 7, 8 and 9 have been selected to participate next Sunday 23 February, in the Laura Geitz Shield, hosted at The Glennie School in Toowoomba. Twenty-two schools in the Darling Downs area have nominated to play.  The first round kicks off at 7:30am with presentations taking place at 4:30pm. This is a fantastic competition which allows our students to interact with a wide range of competitors from other schools.  It is a great way to encourage our young players to continue playing sport for their school and club.

The competition also provides opportunities for up and coming umpires to take part in the competition in an umpiring capacity.  Holly Naugthen will represent the College as an umpire at this competition.

Players selected for the Laura Geitz Shield competition are:

Claudia Barton, Kellie Bath, Makybe Edwards, Jekeira Major, Eleanor McFarland, Jorji Owers, Elyse Peters, Halle Rooney, Maddison Taylor and Isabelle Twidale.

We are looking forward to the girls continued participation, supporting the development of their team building skills and most of all sharing their enjoyment of playing netball this season.